Benefits of 7 Chakras And How To Balance Them With Yoga

Benefits of 7 Chakras And How To Balance Them With Yoga

Posted by Yelisey Orlov on

Top Benefits of 7 Chakras And How To Balance Them With Yoga

Chakra, which literally means wheel, is the energy center in the body and acquires the name as the life force aka prana inside keeps spinning. There are seven chakras or energy centers in the body. These chakras are positioned from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

The Seven Chakras

Chakras regulate bodily functions and are associated with emotional balance as well. Each chakra governs a particular part of the body and energizes organs associated with it. Imbalance in chakras or blocks in these energy centers can lead to various health conditions. Balancing your chakra keeps you in harmonious state, both externally and internally.

Here are the seven chakras, their functions and their colors:

1) Root Chakra/ Muladhara

Root chakra is located at the base of the spine. It is associated with sense of feeling grounded, health, abundance, survival and peace. The color of Root Chakra is red.

Some of the important yoga poses for Root Chakra include:

  • Standing Forward Bend
  • Warrior Pose
  • Knee To Chest Pose
  • Child Pose
  • Locust Pose

2) Sacral Chakra / Svadhisthana

Also called the sex chakra, Sacral Chakra is located beneath the navel. Sacral Chakra governs your sexual and creative energies. The color of Sacral Chakra is orange. 

Wearing orange attire or practicing yoga on an orange yoga mat would stimulate and heal Sacral Chakra.

Get Orange Grippz Mat Here

Orange yoga mat

Yoga poses for Sacral Chakra include:

  • Chair Pose
  • Bridge Pose
  • Bow Pose
  • Full Boat Pose
  • One-Legged King Pigeon Pose

3) Solar Plexus Chakra / Manipura

Love, which is generally associated with heart, finds its origin in Solar Plexus Chakra. It is also the energy center that is associated with self-confidence and wisdom. The color of Solar Plexus Chakra is yellow.

The most effective yoga poses for Solar Plexus Chakra include:

  • Full Boat Pose
  • Bow Pose
  • Bharadvaja’s Twist
  • Warrior Pose

4) Heart Chakra / Anahata

Heart Chakra is located in the center of the chest. It is associated with love and kindness and has an impact on your relationships – the balanced the chakra better is your relationship with others. The color of Heart Chakra is green.

Wearing green colored attire or practicing yoga on a green yoga mat would stimulate and heal Heart Chakra.

Get Green Grippz Mat Here

Green Grippz Yoga Mat

Yoga poses for Heart Chakra are:

  • Bridge Pose
  • Cobra Pose
  • Fish Pose
  • Cat Cow Pose
  • Camel Pose
  • Standing Forward Bend
  • Upward Facing Dog
  • Warrior Pose

5) Throat Chakra / Vishudha

Throat Chakra is located at the base of the neck. It is symbolic of communication and self expression. Balanced Throat Chakra promotes artistic skills and elevates the state of mind. The color of Throat Chakra is blue.

Wearing blue colored attire or practicing yoga on a blue yoga mat would stimulate and heal Throat Chakra.

Get Blue Grippz Mat Here

Grippz Mat Teal

Yoga poses for Throat Chakra include:

  • Cobra Pose
  • Fish Pose
  • Legs Up The Wall Pose
  • Shoulder Stand
  • Plough Pose
  • Child Pose
  • King Pigeon Pose

6) Third Eye Chakra / Ajna

Located between eyebrows, Third Eye Chakra supports spiritual growth. Balanced Third Eye Chakra develops charismatic personality, wisdom and intuition. The color of Third Eye Chakra is indigo.

Wearing indigo colored attire or practicing yoga on an indigo yoga mat would stimulate and heal Third Eye Chakra.

Get Indigo Grippz Mat Here

Indigo Grippz Mat

Yoga poses to balance Third Eye Chakra are:

  • Big Toe Pose
  • Half Standing Forward Bend
  • Down Dog Pose
  • Child Pose
  • Hero Pose
  • Eagle Pose

7) Crown Chakra / Sahasrara

As the name suggests, Crown Chakra, which connects you to divinity, is located at the crown of the head. Balanced Crown Chakra elevates your level of consciousness, promotes positive attitude, faith and keeps you inspired. The color of Crown Chakra is violet.

Wearing violet colored attire or practicing yoga on a violet yoga mat would stimulate and heal Third Eye Chakra.

Get Violet Grippz Mat Here

Viloet Grippz Mat

Best yoga poses for Crown Chakra include:

  • Lotus Pose
  • Tree Pose
  • Seated Forward Bend
  • Supported Shoulder Stand
  • Supported Head Stand
  • Plough Pose

Benefits of Using Yoga Mats With Colors Associated With Chakras

Yoga is practiced to maintain fitness levels, prevent and cure health conditions and experience peace within. Whatever your reason, it is highly recommended to use yoga mats with colors associated with chakras to speed up benefits of practicing.

Color energies stimulate chakras thereby aiding in balancing the chakras. Wearing clothes with chakra colors or visualizing chakra colors can help to stimulate chakras and promote healthy function. However, the benefits are doubled when you use yoga mats with chakra colors.

Older Post Newer Post